28th International Olympiad in Informatics

Friday, August 12 - Friday, August 19, 2016

National traditions

Everyone has a homeland they feel proud to call their own; to love, to cherish and to take pride in. To love your homeland is to know its history, its culture and its traditions.

Here is a brief piece about the traditions of those peoples who live in Tatarstan

The essence of a culture lies in its ceremonies and celebrations. Tatar culture has traditionally included both religious celebrations (Kurban-bairam, Uraza-bairam and Ramazan) and secular ones observed at various points throughout the year.

The Tatar calendar begins with Nauruz, which is observed on the day of the spring equinox (21 March) of the solar calendar.

Nauruz

As with other Turkic peoples, Nauruz was observed by Tatars on 21-22 March. This was the new year by the old calendar. It was marked by complicated rites and ostentatious theatrical productions. A ritual porridge-like dish called kuzha was prepared from sprouting barley seeds, and midnight people would go out into the streets to congratulate each other on the New Year. In the morning shakirds – students from the local madrassa – would walk along the streets singing songs of events from the year gone by, then would gather to discuss their own exploits. It was here that a theatrical production would take place, as well as the presenting of unmarried girls and the newly-betrothed (Nauruz-bek) due to be married in the coming year. The name of this festival is preserved in many Tatar names and surnames to this day.
 

Nauruz has become one of the biggest festivals in Kazan. People come to Gorky Park to see exhibitions and plays, as well as take part in games and comedy competitions. The day would not be complete without demonstrations of figure skating and dressage and mountains of hot pancakes. And of course there is always plenty of fun to be had at the target range shooting images of the latest villains and bad guys.

Soon it will be time to sow the seeds for the new harvest – the most beautiful time of year, and the time of the festival of Sabantuy.
 

Sabantuy

On a given day children will be sent from house to house to collect grains, milk, butter and eggs. A woman will then use these ingredients to make the children a porridge for their efforts. The next day, at first light, the children will put on their best clothes and go from house to house collecting painted eggs, each child carrying a bag made from towels. On this day all the women also bake rolls of bread, and in some villages it is custom for the first boy to enter a house to be sat on a cushion and told: “He who is fleet of foot is he who has many chickens and chicks…”. He would then be given some eggs – always more than those who come after him.

The roots of this festival run very deep, and indeed Sabantuy is as old as the Tatar people themselves. Even in the year 921 the famed explorer from Baghdad Ibn Fadlan, secretary of the Arab embassy, wrote with wonder and admiration of how the Bolgars marked this celebration. So too Karl Fuchs, who in his book “The Kazan Tatars” writes:

“In times of old, the Tatars celebrated this festival on Arsk Field. A table was laid in the open air where the poor could eat for free. This gift was known as Tuy. In time, however, the location was changed. In 1834, Sabantuy in Kazan took place from 25 May until 1 June. This was the first time Russians were invited, with the help of a herald carrying a long stick with a colourful handkerchief tied to the end. The herald walked through all the streets of Kazan, inviting everyone to join the celebration.”

As described with such enthusiasm by Fuchs, the celebration of the Tatar national holiday Saban took place on a large meadow on the other side of Novo-Tatarskaya sloboda. Neighouring settlements marked Saban as soon as the snow left the fields, but in Kazan it was celebrated later as the site on which it was held was susceptible to flooding from the Volga.

And here’s a little more: Saban starts on a Friday and runs the whole week until the following Friday. All Tatars, young and old, meet around noon to make a rope circle to sit or stand around. Into the circle enter two young, fit wrestlers who try to throw their opponent to the ground using the sash tied around his waist. The winner would receive a pot of money collected from wealthy Tatar merchants. Good wrestlers could expect to earn a fair sum of money. Umpires would watch over the bouts, keeping the peace with a long stick. Any disagreements over the outcome would be swiftly dealt with. In fact it was these same umpires who sought out wrestlers to take part.

Equestrian events and footraces were held alongside the wrestling. The horses were ridden by boys well skilled in the art of riding. It so happens that the term saban has two meanings: that of a “plough” and of a “scattering of seeds”, while the term tuy connotes a celebration. It is a festival dedicated to farming, to the worship of mother earth’s bounty.

Traditional Sabantuy competitions:

  • Pillow-fight with sacks filled with hay while sitting astride a beam. The object of the game is to knock your opponent “from the saddle”.
  • Sack race.
  • Three-legged race.
  • Balancing on a moving beam.
  • “Split the bag”, where the participant is blindfolded and wields a stick to hit a suspended bag.
  • Pole-climbing.
  • Egg-and-spoon race, where contestants must carry the spoon between their teeth.
  • A “Tatar-style” beauty pageant, where contestants compete to cook noodles in the shortest time possible.

Also on offer are shashlyk kebabs, rice plov dishes, home-cooked noodles and an assortment of other Tatar treats: sweet fried dough known as chak-chak, as well as pies like echpochmak, balish and peremyach.

Similar Sabantuy celebrations are practiced by neighbouring Turkic peoples such as the Mari, Chuvash, Bashkirs, Udmurts and Mordovians.

The Muslim festivals are held in especially high esteem. The most important of these is Kurban-bairam. Kurban-bairam, or Eid al-adha, is the festival of the sacrifice, and commemorates the willingness of Ibrahim to sacrifice his only son to Allah. For several weeks leading up to the festival, an animal bred for meat is fattened up to be sacrificed.

Uraza-bairam marks the end of the thirty-day fast during the month of Ramadan. After breakfasting on sweets in the morning, Muslims will visit the mosque, then gather together in the evening for a family feast.

Throughout the 20th and 21st centuries, traditional folk festivals have incorporated new elements which reflect the changes in society and politics. The most notable example is Republic Day (30 August), which marks the day Tatarstan ratified the declaration of state sovereignty back in 1990. Republic Day combines both tradition and modernity, encouraging people to both remember the past and look to the future. Every year on this day, towns and villages across the Republic come out in colour, as the many nationalities of Tatarstan come together to enjoy open-air theatre celebrating the historical customs and traditions of the region, wrestling competitions and ensembles of folk-musicians and story-tellers.

Organizers

Sponsors

Information partners

XXVIII Международная олимпиада по информатике

12 - 19 августа 2016 года

Национальные традиции

У каждого человека есть своя малая родина, которую он призван беречь и хранить. Любить Родину - значит знать ее историю, культуру, национальные традиции.

О некоторых традициях, обычаях народов, проживающих в Республике Татарстан
Выражением эмоциональной и эстетической жизни народа выступают обряды и праздники. Традиционно праздничная культура татар включала в себя как религиозные (Курбан-байрам, Ураза-байрам, Рамазан), так и светские праздники, отмечаемые в определённое время года.

Календарный цикл национальных праздников и обрядов татарского народа начинается с Науруза, который праздновали в день весеннего равноденствия (21 марта) по солнечному календарю.

Науруз

Праздник этот, как и у других тюркских народов, в далеком прошлом широко отмечали татары 21 - 22 марта. Это был праздник нового года (науруз) по старинному календарю. Он сопровождался сложными обрядами и пышными театрализованными представлениями. Люди готовили ритуальную кашу (кужа) из проросших зерен ячменя, выходили на улицу и поздравляли друг друга ровно в полночь (в момент тахвиль). С утра шакирды обходили дома, распевая песни-байты о том, что случилось замечательного, достойного за минувший год, потом собирался народный сход, где все отчитывались о своих поступках за год. Здесь же организовывалось театрализованное выступление "времен года", проводились смотрины и посвящение в женихи и невесты девушек и юношей (науруз-бек), которые должны были пожениться в предстоящем году. Название этого праздника сохранилось во многих татарских именах и фамилиях.

Науруз стал одним из самых ярких праздников в Казани. Так, в день этого праздника в Центральном парке культуры и отдыха можно посетить выставки, концерты и театральные представления, поучаствовать в спортивных играх и шуточных соревнованиях. Встреча весны не обходится без показательных выступлений юных фигуристов, состояний лихих рысаков, горячих блинов. Много смеха и веселья вызывают снежные тиры, где мишенями являются изображения отрицательных персонажей.
Вскоре после Науруза наступала пора весеннего сева - самое красивое время года,- устраивали праздник Сабантуй.

Сабантуй

В назначенный день дети отправлялись по домам собирать крупу, молоко, масло, яйца. Из этих продуктов какая-нибудь женщина готовила в поле у воды кашу для детей. На следующий день, чуть свет, дети, надев на себя обновки, отправлялись по домам собирать крашеные яйца.
У каждого в руках был мешочек, сшитый из полотенца. Все хозяйки в этот день пекли также булочки. В некоторых деревнях первого вошедшего в дом мальчика хозяйка сажала на подушку, приговаривая: "Пусть легкой будет своя нога, пусть будет много кур и цыплят...". Первому обязательно давали яйца, И гостинцев ему доставалось больше, чем остальным.

 Смысл этого праздника глубок, а история сабантуя такая же древняя, как и сам татарский народ. Еще в 921 году секретарь арабского посольства, прибывшего в Булгары из Багдада, знаменитый исследователь Ибн Фадлан, с изумлением и восхищением описал этот булгарский праздник в своих трудах.
Очень интересно описывает этот праздник Карл Фукс в своей книге "Казанские татары". Вот что он пишет:

-  В прежние времена татары отмечали этот праздник на Арском поле. Ставили под чистым небом открытый стол, причем бедные ели бесплатно. Это угощение называли Туи. Но вскоре место праздника пришлось перенести на другое место. В 1834 году сабантуй в Казани проводился с 25 мая по 1 июня. В первый раз были приглашены русские с помощью герольда, у которого в руке была длинная палка, а на конце этой палки развевался пестрый платок. Герольд ходил по всем казанским улицам, призывая всех на праздник.

С большим оживлением, как писал Карл Фукс, прошло празднование татарского национального праздника сабана на большом лугу за Ново-Татарской слободой. Если в соседних селах его проводили сразу после схода снега с полей, то в Казани позже, потому что место, на котором проводился праздник, затапливался весной от разлива Волги.

А вот еще фрагмент. Сабан начинается с пятницы, и продолжается целую неделю до следующей пятницы. Все татары, старые и малые, собираются около полудня, и делают из веревки круг, около которого сидят или стоят зрители. На середину круга выступили два борца, молодых, здоровых, - обвязавшись кушаками, стараются один другого повалить на землю. Для победителя деньги собирались от богатых татарских купцов. Богатырь, умеющий хорошо бороться, мог собрать значительную сумму.
За порядком на празднике наблюдали бурмистры, которые ходили по кругу с длинными палками. Если побежденный считал себя обиженным, то эти бурмистры старались прекратить их ссору. Они же искали и борцов для праздника.
Кроме борьбы проводились скачки на лошадях и беганье. Седоками на лошадях были мальчики, которые хорошо могли ими управлять.
Что касается названия, то у слова "сабан" есть два значения - это "плуг" и "весенний сев"; "туй" - это праздник. Это праздник земледелия, почитание матушки - земли, день поклонения ей.

  Традиционные соревнования сабантуя:
 - Бой мешками с сеном верхом на бревне. Цель – выбить противника «из седла».
 - Бег в мешках.
 - Парное состязание: одну ногу привязывают к ноге партнера и так бегут к финишу.
 - Поход за призом по качающемуся бревну.
 - Игра «Разбей горшок»: участнику завязывают глаза, дают в руки длинную палку, которой он должен разбить горшок.
 - Карабканье по высокому столбу с привязанными наверху призами.
 - Бег с ложкой во рту. На ложке - сырое яйцо. Кто первым прибежит, не разбив ценный груз, тот и победитель.
 - Конкурсы для татарских красавиц  – кто быстрее и лучше нарежет лапшу.
   На поляне, где устраиваются гулянья, можно отведать шашлыка, плова домашней лапши и национальных татарских угощений:  чак-чак, эчпочмак, балиш, перемяч.
 
Подобные сабантую праздники, восславляющие мать-природу и труд землепашца, отмечают и марийцы, и чуваши, и башкиры, и удмурты, и мордва.

Особо почитаемыми считались мусульманские праздники.

Самым значительным из них является Курбан-байрам. Курбан-байрам -  это праздник жертвоприношения в память о готовности пророке Ибрагима принести в жертву Аллаху своего сына. За несколько недель до праздника начинают откармливать жертвенное животное, считается обязательным приготовить еду из мяса.

Ураза-байрам отмечается по завершению тридцатидневного поста в месяц рамазан. С утра, отведав сладостей, мусульмане отправляются в мечеть, а вечером устраивается праздничное семейное застолье.

В ХХ-ХХI вв. традиционные народные праздники обогатились новыми, в которых нашли отражение социальные и политические изменения в обществе. Главным из них стал День Республики (30 августа). Именно в этот день в 1990 году Татарстан принял Декларацию о Государственном Суверенитете. День Республики отражает в себе и старинные традиции и современность. Это память о прошлом и устремления в будущее. В этот день расцветают города и села республики, весь многонациональный народ Татарстана собирается, чтобы увидеть праздничное театрализованное представление под открытым небом с историческими обычаями и традициями, конными скачками, национальной борьбой, выступлениями ансамблей старинных инструментов и фольклорных групп.

 

Организаторы

Спонсоры

Информационные партнеры